Zmiana rozmiaru tekstu

-A A +A

In English

International Center for Study of the Phenomenon of Solidarity (Międzynarodowe Centrum Badań and Fenomenem Solidarności – MCBFS) 

The Center is a newly established scientific unit of the Department of Philosophy of the Pontifical University of John Paul II in Krakow, operating in cooperation with the National Commission of NSZZ "Solidarność".

It was founded on June 19, 2018 by Archbishop Marek Jędraszewski, the Great Chancellor of the UPJPII and Mr. Piotr Duda, the Chairman of the National Commission of the NSZZ "Solidarność".

The goals of the MCBFS are primarily: mutual scientific cooperation aimed at a better understanding of the phenomenon of solidarity, as well as creating a spiritual and intellectual background for exploring and strengthening the idea of solidarity in the anthropological and moral aspect and initiatives undertaken by the NSZZ "Solidarność" based on Catholic social teaching and christian ethics.

31-069 Krakow, Poland
st. Bernardynska 3
room 212
Facebook: @MCBFSolidarnosc


The NSZZ ”Solidarność”

The Independent and Self-Governing Trade Union Solidarność was founded as a result of worker protests and established on the basis of the Gdańsk Accords signed on 31st August 1980 by the Inter-enterprise Strike Committee and the Government Commission.

NSZZ Solidarność represents 722.000 workers, what is 4,35% of the total unionisation of work force in Poland (11-13%). There are union members in every industry and services. Membership includes managers, administrators and professional staff as well as scientists and technicians; skilled workers and labourers; full-time workers and those who work part time; pensioners/retirees, school students in factory-run vocational schools doing sub-contracting work for factories or receiving vocational training in such schools; persons contracting for work at home, unemployed, disabled and persons who are performing alternative military service. A check off system is in operation.

NSZZ "Solidarność" has a territorial-branch structure. 8105 thousand enterprise Union organisations (locals) are associated into 34 regions (VI.2006). Enterprise Union organisations are associated at the same time in the national branch sections which form 16 national branch secretariats.

The National Congress of Delegates is the union's supreme authority which elects the National Commission (100 members), consisting among others of the chairs of 34 regions and 16 national branch secretariats and the President of the National Commission (in separate balloting). The National Congress of Delegates also elects the National Audit Commission.

The current operations of the Union are controlled by 16 members of the Presidium of the National Commission. The National Commission implements the Programme Resolution and other resolutions adopted by the National Congress of Delegates.


Uniwersytet Papieski Jana Pawła II w Krakowie Wszelkie prawa zastrzeżone przez Uniwersytet Papieski Jana Pawła II w Krakowie 2021